Booting from SSD

I have installed on my Rock 5A an SSD stick 2280 with 200 GB.
I wonder if it would be possible to boot from that SSD.

How can I do ? Would it possible to simply copying the contents of the SD card to the SSD with the dd command ?
I have already installed on the SD card some applications, and would prefer to not have to reinstall them again.

Bear with me… I am a Linux novice.
Thanks.

1. how did you install a 2280 SSD on Rock 5A? It doesn’t have the correct M.2 socket.
  2. what is the operating system you are using? The booting is different for Armbian and for the Radxa distributions.

I bought together with the board the optional add-on that has an M.2 socket for the various lengths of SSD sticks.

I flashed on the SD card the Debian image downloadable from the Radxa pages.

TNX.

You need to flash uboot image to the spi nor flash. Armbian has the uboot image supporting spi nor and nvme boot.
Download my uboot build: https://github.com/amazingfate/armbian-rock5b-images/releases/download/20230614-0511/linux-u-boot-rock-5a-legacy_23.08.0-trunk--2017.09-Sbf47-P5cd4-He8c0-V5c7a-Be203_arm64.deb
Extract the deb package using command:

dpkg -x linux-u-boot-rock-5a-legacy_23.08.0-trunk--2017.09-Sbf47-P5cd4-He8c0-V5c7a-Be203_arm64.deb .

You can find the uboot image file at usr/lib/linux-u-boot-legacy-rock-5a_23.08.0-trunk_arm64/rkspi_loader.img
Flash that image under maskrom mode: https://wiki.radxa.com/Rock5/install/spi
Then you can boot armbian which has get dded into your nvme ssd.
Armbian images download: https://imola.armbian.com/dl/rock-5a/archive/

2 Likes

Thanks for your answer. I am a bit confused… (I told you that I am a Linux novice, didn’t I ?)

When you talk about armbian, do you intend the Debian image found here ::
https://github.com/radxa-build/rock-5a/releases/download/b16/rock-5a_debian_bullseye_kde_b16.img.xz
or maybe they are two different things ?

TNX