Rock Pi 4C Android Booting SPI + NVME

Hello All,

I am a bit of a newb at this so please bare with me. her is what i am trying to do. I am trying to create a Rock Pi 4C tablet runnning Andoid 10 off of the NVME. I have the following:

Rock Pi 4C v1.2
NVME board v1.6
NVME SSD Western Digital Blue SN550
Android 10 from Radxa’s website and written to the NVME using etcher.

I have got it to boot from SD card running Ubuntu 20.14
when i have it running, i run through the steps in this guide --> https://wiki.radxa.com/Rockpi4/Linux_system_runs_on_M.2_NVME_SSD
and as i have found to erase the SPI with the command sudo /usr/local/sbin/rockpi_erase_spi_flash.sh and then sudo /usr/local/sbin/rockpi4c_write_spi_flash.sh

After going through all of this and have just the NVME in, i get a solid green and blue light.

“Please help Obi Wan your my only hope.”

AFAIK, I don’t think booting from NVMe on Android 10 is possible on RockPi4C.

Running Android on NVMe is supported. Please check the Android Q guide:

[ROM][Android10][RockPI 4] Android Q Firmware Release

Flash the SPI image for Android from the link above, the SPI image for Android and Linux are different.

1 Like

Thanks Jack,
like i said i am a bit of a newb here, so i would like to ask for some step by step instructions. Can this be done right on the RockPi with a running ubuntu server on a SD card or do i need to use a USB male to male cord to do this. Sorry for the hand holding here.

You can do this on ROCK Pi or with PC.

If with PC, just download the Android SPI image and write it with rkdeveloptool.

If on ROCK Pi, you can replace the

/usr/lib/u-boot-rockpi4[bc]/spi/uboot-trust-spi.img

with the Android SPI image, keep the name the same. and run

/usr/local/sbin/rockpi4[bc]_upgrade_bootloader.sh

manually.

Then write the gpt android image to NVMe on ROCK Pi with dd or on PC with NVMe reader.

hello,
@jack

Dose this means it only can boot Android?