Need USB help on a Rock 3A

Just got a Rock 3A running on Debian 10 I’m using a wireless USB keyboard and mouse as input, and HDMI output to a TV as a monitor. So I know at least that USB port is working, but I can’t see any jump drives I plug into the other ports. I am extremely new to Linux and could use some help figuring out how to get these working. I have a Rock64 that had no issues with any of the OS’s I tried on it, IE: Android, Armbian, Manjaro. The USB ports initialized and worked at boot on the Rock64, I assumed they would on the Rock 3A as well. Thanks for any help.

This problem is not solvable even by kernel hackers, while “new to Linux” have exactly 0% chanches. Don’t worry about. This hardware is sold without working software … Support people that works hard to bring those devices up. That is the only thing you can do beside waiting.

Support for Rock3A is fairly new and it will get fully support as the drivers and soc support matures with time. Rock64 is a very matured soc so it have all the needed drivers to make use of all available USB.

For now you can use a USB hub in that single port which is working fine for you.
Once the supporting drivers are ready then you should be able to use all the other ports as well.

If you need it to work urgently then you can pay Armbian developers to bring up the needed drivers and maybe they can upstream it faster then the community contributors. :smiley:

PS do the submissions https://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/torvalds/linux.git/commit/?h=v5.17-rc2&id=8eff5b99042dd2fe6494e82ab1dc39bcdd5b976c
Fix USB2 but 5.17 is still and RC as for “This problem is not solvable even by kernel hackers” its not been solved yet, or likely has been and just needs the next Linux release.
If so and works it may be backported until 5.17 is in the wild.