Issues with fstab and Pi going into Emergency Mode

I cannot restart the Pi without it going into Emergency Mode. I’m new to Linux so I may be a bit off here, but the Pi forums suggest that Emergency Mode is due to fstab failure.

Set up: Pi4 (8GB)
Quad Sata Hat
4 x Seagate Barracuda 2TB

It says during boot “A start job is running for /dev/md0”, but at this point the hat is not enabled, so md0 cannot be put together from sda to sdd, as they don’t exist.

How do I go about fixing this issue (to make the hat come on before fstab is processed)? I have never got this Pi to reboot, but if I do not reboot it everything works fine (I installed Nextcloud on it and transferred 600+GB onto it so the hardware does work). That data is held elsewhere and I have no qualms about destroying the array and rebuilding it.
This is the line added to fstab:

/dev/md0 /mnt ext4 defaults 0 0

Edit: although better spaced out than displayed here!

Many thanks in advance.

An error in the fstab will cause a system to fail to boot. It looks to me that /dev/md0 does not exist…what is that supposed to be? I would remove that line from fstab, or comment it out, and reboot, see if it does.

I’d also put a directory under /mnt and mount there. mkdir /mnt/mymountpoint
then test. sudo mount /dev/md0 /mnt/mymountpoint.

As you manipulate the fstab as you can test before booting with mount -a (as root or sudo). That will mount everything and give errors for problems.

/dev/md0 is the raid array created by mdadm:

sudo mdadm --create --verbose /dev/md0 --level=5 --raid-devices=4 /dev/sda /dev/sdb /dev/sdc /dev/sdd

as such, it doesn’t actually exist until after sda to sdd are available (which in turn won’t happen until the hat has been activated). When the fstab was manipulated /dev/md0 was available and everything worked beautifully, but it isn’t available during boot up.