Very fast booting and video playback with RockPi 4?

Dear Community,

maybe you can help me to find the right hardware and software for my project. I currently own a Raspberry Pi 4B, but I am unable to limit the boot process to the required time. I have no experience with RockPi so far.

My requirements:

• very fast boot process (should not exceed about 5 seconds, faster would be better)
  • set a fixed graphics resolution, even if the display is not available during the boot process
  • playback of 1080p videos, fast switching between different videos, depending on the state of certain GPIOs

What do you recommend?

Hardware:

• RockPi 4A should be enough, don’t need wifi/bluetooth
  • do I need an M.2 NVME SSD? Or would eMMC be fast enough?

Software:

• which operating system? Debian? armbian? Something else?
  • is hardware accelerated video playback available on Debian?

I was thinking of remotely controlling OMXPlayer or VLC player using a Python script.

I would be grateful for any tip.

If you have a lot of resources, buildroot / Yocto, otherwise Armbian:

Support is on the level of stock, but you have a state of the art build system which will help you getting there where you want.

Video acceleration works on kernel 4.4.y images, this way https://forum.armbian.com/topic/9272-development-rk3399-media-script/ or similar hacky way on stock creations.

For professional grade solutions you will need to support and wait for modern kernel support.

1 Like

Thanks for pointing me into the right direction. Will give it a try. Armbian should be able to do the job.

Honestly linux is not the world where I’m at home. Anyway, I have already built kernels with buildroot for the raspberry pi, but hardware acceleration never worked.

Have ordered a Rock Pi 4A with m.2 SSD today. Hope I will get at least rev. 1.4 (for SPI flash to be soldered) because if I got it right, this would be the best way to boot from SSD.