RockPi S doesn't survive reboot

Hey there,
this is my first time using a RockPi, but I’m fairly expierienced with Raspberry Pis and Linux in general.

I’ve downloaded the Ubuntu Image from the RockPi-Website, installed it using Etcher, exactly like the documentation stated.
It boot’s fine with a freshly flashed SD card, I can access it via SSH, configure it to my liking but as soon as it’s being rebooted, it’s not accessible anymore. Not responding to pings aswell.
The green LED is on permanently, the blue LED is blinking two times every second (approximately).
Here’s a video: https://imgur.com/a/SrFYDz2

I’ve got to RockPiS, they’re both set up identical and I’m expieriencing this problem with both of them.

This is not mainstream Linux …

For start move to Armbian where a serial console is enable by default via USB-C. Probably just IP address is changing ?

I don’t think it’s an IP address change.
IPs in my network are assigned statically via DHCP, identified by the MAC address. So as long as the MAC doesn’t change or the RockPi, for whatever reason, tries to force another, static IP, an address change shouldn’t happen.
I’ve also tested this in a dedicated VLAN for testing: Untagged port, no filters whatsoever, standard DHCP - there’s not a single IP responding to pings apart from the gateway in the whole subnet.

In this development world its quite common that MAC does changes on each power cycle / reboot.

Shouldn’t the mac address, since it’s a physical address, like… never change? Isn’t that the point of them?
Anyways, that still wouldn’t explain why it isn’t connecting to a wide open network, without any restrictions and a default dhcp…

If MAC is stored nowhere and if there is an invalid MAC or if someone thinks its more secure to provide random by default …

Again. This is not a Linux on your PC or Raspberry pi. This Ubuntu has little in common with Ubuntu, like you are used to, on the kernel space.