Rock4SE - protect microSD card from corruption

Hi,

I’m very new to all this and have been trying to work on a few things with my new rock4SE. I want to use it for simple websites (will probably get 0 visitors, but that’s fine) and internal photosharing.
I’ve got things to setup with ubuntu 22.04 and using virtualmin to run a site, but with a small power failure, all the efforts disappeared with no rebooting. Perhaps corrupted SD card.

I’ve read around and thought of some things, but would like some guidance from the community if possible.

- partition SD card to 1 - OS, 2 - temporary and 3 - other
- make the OS portion read only so it doesn’t get corrupted

Is this easy to do and possible? I know I can do UPS and backup power, but to be honest, it’s not that crucial of a project, and curious to see if this kind of thing can work.

Any help is appreciated!

Kind Regards

Use

Hi, thanks for the suggestion. Is this though in addition to all that I was trying to in lieu of? I see that once you flash the SD card, there are about 4 different volumes/partitions? Do they all need to be RO or is there one that needs to be writable for temp files?

It provides a great mode that loads the /root readonly into an overlayfs file system with zram upper and only writes to SD on shutdown. So its write-once on shutdown and its what openHab use or at least it did.

So installing this will essentially configure RO sections for ubuntu and I don’t need to setup anything else? Of course, trying to eliminate power issues is one thing, but a sudden loss of power with this zram-config protects it?

I’m very new to all this so making sure I understand what’s going on! Lots of learnging to do.

It used to was just instal set the mode and reboot and job done. Prob ask the repo owner or OpenHab as just haven’t bothered using for a while now.
Its even slightly better than RO as its writes the top layer down on shutdown.