Rock 4 SE NAS - Not booting after installation

Hi all!

As a disclaimer, im very new to this world of SBC’s and linux so bear with me :smiley:

I wanted to try and build a functioning NAS with a Rock 4SE and the Rock SATA hat that fits 4 2.5" SSD/HDD.

I stumbled upon this guide (https://wiki.omv-extras.org/doku.php?id=omv7%3Aarmbian_bookworm_install).

However, when i try to follow along, the Rock 4 doesnt boot correctly after the reboot command.
It wont show up in my DHCP table, and if i stick a HDMI cable in it, the output shows a lot of failed boot processes.

I have tried a few different Armbian builds - both bullseye (The CLI build here https://www.okdo.com/software-hub/) and bookworm (Found on armbians github page - linked from armbians website under Rock 4), and it yields the same result.

Just this morning i read that the Rock 4SE is not sufficiently powered by a 5V USB-C power supply, which i had been using. Is it probable that this can cause it since the rock requires more power?

Can anyone point me in the right direction based on the information above?

You don’t need this hat to boot system and see if anything have changed. Armbian is great initiative, but often untested builds are released and they can stuck at boot, kernel panic or miss some important features such as fast pcie support. Start with simple things - bare board with system, some cooling and networking. Double check system stability and then attach HAT.

Please note that SATA HAT has it’s own power connector. You don’t need to use it if You power Your drives externally. If You want compact setup with drives directly attached to board You need at least 12V/4A simple power adapter with barrel jack. I don’t think You can power everything from ROCK board usb-c port. Power IC is designed for typical usage, four drives will need way to much.