Reflashing emmc module

Hi all!
I am a bit of a noob. Oh well I guess we all start at some point.

I just flashed the emmc module that I put on to my Raspberry Pi 4 board with the image that was mentioned into the curriculum to set up a Cardano Staking Pool. After I was done I noticed there was no Desktop Gui which I really wanted. So I did some googling and found a way to get the Armbian-Config installed and also entered a command so it would load the Gui. However after it had loaded the gui I was having other issues such as missing icons and many things like browser and command terminal would not load for me (I guess its missing the link or path or something?).

I am now thinking of reflashing the emmc and starting all over again. However I noticed that the emmc module is underneath the big black heatsink that I mounted with some thermal compound.

Do I need to remove the heatsink again and clean the thermal compound off and do it all again so I can access the emmc and reflash it on my windows pc? Is there some other way for me to reflash the emmc module without having to remove it all?

I am thinking of maybe putting on Raspbian Buster which is the latest version of Raspbian I was reading. Would I have any issues trying to configure and run a Cardano Staking Pool on Raspbian? I guess the little screen that shows my ip address and temp and cpu load and stuff like that might not be working anymore in Raspbian unless I somehow manually set that part up?

Thank you immensely for anyone knowledgeable that may be able to help me out with these issues. I didn’t even think I would get this far into it. Its a bit of a learning curve for me. cheers all

You can remove/install the eMMC without taking off the heatsink, but it’s a little tricky.

Removal is easy enough, you can do it with a toothpick, just slide it under and carefully pop the module off.