My first attempt to use the Rock 5 as a NAS

Hello,

Before anything I apologize for any grammar errors, English is not my first language. Also, I’m no expert so please forgive any technical mistakes on my part, any suggestions are more than welcome.

I’ve been waiting for months to test the rock 5b as a NAS and I finally got all the hardware. My current hardware is the following:

• A PLX8747 based card I got from aliexpress.
  • A couple of P1600X optanes.
  • 2x M.2 to PCIe X4 adapters
  • A M.2 to PCIe x16 adapter with ATX PSU 24pin connector
  • A Mellanox Connectx-3 Infiniband
  • A LSI SAS2008 card
  • 6x 2TB SAS hard drives

I had most of these things laying around (Except the PLX and Mellanox cards) and decided to give it a try and see what the hardware is capable of.

The PLX switch worked right out of the box, I even tested it with 4 nvme drives and all got recognized right away, so things were looking good.

The problems started when I tried connecting the SAS card, I first tried with an HP H240, that one somehow got recognized as an Ethernet adapter, I found the right driver for it in the kernel but the device was being recognized with the wrong vendor and device IDs and no matter what I couldn’t get the driver load, after a bunch of troubleshooting I gave up on that one.

Then I tried the LSI one, at first, it didn’t even show up when running lspci. It turns out that, apparently, the firmware on that card takes longer to initialize than the Rock 5b to boot up so all I had to do was rescan the PCI bus after some time and:

After recompiling the kernel and adding the correct drivers all disks were up and running: