Looking for advice RockPi vs Rasberry

I am a hobbyist with very little experience working with Linux/Unix Systems but I’ve been looking at getting an SBC. My question is many-layered. I’ve read a few posts here, many of which are very detailed and technical, this seems like a great community. Would Rock Pi 4c v1.4 be a good starting point as an SBC for a very amateur hobbyist? My Google-fu is decent but my technical knowledge is very limited right now. All I’ve really done is to build PCs and maintain a stable windows installation. My main use case at this point might be a media center, teaching myself how to write python/other languages, Emulation box. Eventually, I’d give it to my father as a desktop replacement since all he does is surf the internet. My other choice would be the Geekworm kit for the RPi 4 w/ x825 and x735 expansion boards.

Rasp is very slow, you will notice that and it will be really annoying each time you will use console.

Rock is comparably blazing fast, mostly when eMMC is used and is better choice for now.

I recently sold Rasp and stayed with Rock which fulfills almost all my needs.

My idea was to buy a 240-500gb SSD and run everything off of that, and I’ve seen that Rock Pi has the best interface for that. My main concerns were dealing with out of the box experience after the build. Am I looking at a multi day trouble shooting session to try and get this running or is it pretty straight forward? Also what kind of issues am I likely to run into with mainstream distros?

None. Mainstream distros support is from non-existing <-> terrible and will be generic only. With exceptions here and there. ARM world is still quite fragmented, not universal such as Intel or RPi. Support will probably reach late stock levels or special ARM single board computer distributions such as (Debian or Ubuntu based) Armbian which is well tuned and optimised for such hardware.

Anyway, welcome!

1 Like