How i fixed the hang at boot and got my sata hat working with unionfs

disclaimer
i am a linux noob. there very well might be a far superior way to do this.
this is how i got mine working and not hanging at boot or emergency mode loop
raid 5 - i gave up
since this is just portable server and i have 2 other backups of all of my media i didnt care about losing data if a drive failed in it. so i used unionfs which is basically a drive pool. if a drive fails you only lose data on that drive, i think. correct me if i am wrong
use this at your own risk, it worked for me, if you break something i am not responsible <3

here is what i did step by step to get omv 5 working through reboots and shutdowns

login as pi

use these commands

sudo apt-get update

sudo apt-get upgrade

sudo curl -sL https://rock.sh/get-rockpi-sata | sudo -E bash -

sudo nano /etc/rockpi-sata.conf

make any changes you want

save

sudo systemctl restart rockpi-sata.service

sudo nano /lib/udev/rules.d/60-persistent-storage.rules

add the following jut below “Fall back usb_id for USB devices”

#Fix Quad SATA HAT disk serial number

KERNEL=="sd*", ATTRS{idVendor}=="1058", ATTRS{idProduct}=="0a10", SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", PROGRAM="/root/serial.sh %k", ENV{ID_SERIAL}="USB-%c", ENV{ID_SERIAL_SHORT}="%c"

save

sudo nano /root/serial.sh

add these 2 lines

#!/bin/bash

/sbin/hdparm -I /dev/$1 | grep 'Serial Number' | awk '{print $3}'

Save

sudo chmod +x /root/serial.sh

sudo wget -O - https://github.com/OpenMediaVault-Plugin-Developers/installScript/raw/master/install | sudo bash

setup omv disks, install unionfs plug in, configure unionfs and your shares

do not reboot yet

sudo nano /etc/fstab

move the omv entries for disk mounting to the below file and reorder to correct syntax i copied and pasted out of putty to a txt file and edited them to be in the correct order

save

sudo nano /etc/rc.local