Could I run openSUSE (AARCH64) on the ROCK Pi 4?

I’ve been using Linux for the last 16 years as my primary desktop OS, however, I have no experience working with ARM SBC devices. I’m planning to buy a Rock Pi 4, and I’d like to run openSUSE on it, who has an Aarch64 build- https://en.opensuse.org/Portal:ARM Is there any reason I wouldn’t be able to do this? They claim it’s also working with the Mali 860 as well, and I have no problems with tinkering a bit or compiling apps from source to get it running, just as long as it doesn’t require a compiling the kernel with custom patches. I’d appreciate any info that can be provided.

It will not work. Perhaps in 6-12 months when mainline support emerges, matures, … Now, you have to work out with 4.4 based kernel builds what you found on radxa download, Armbian, …) or experimental mainline 5.3.y Armbian (Ubuntu/Debian), Ayufan Ubuntu, Debian, …

Do you know why it won’t work?

Mainstream distributions rely on upstream kernel where support for this hardware is basic, immature and not (very well) tested. I am not familiar particularly with Suse, but Ubuntu, for example, only supports a few.

Currently they should maintain several different kernel / u-boot branches like Armbian do. But this complicates things a lot …

I don’t think very highly of Canonical or Ubuntu, to put it as nicely as I possibly can. However, it looks like the openSUSE developers are willing to work on getting hardware working that does not yet run. I don’t yet own the hardware, but I will probably end up getting it, and it will probably be soon, so I will likely see if I can get it running. I still have a lot to learn about the platform yet though. They have this posted on their site though, if anyone more experienced with the hardware wants to work with them to get it running-

“”"