Connecting Ubuntu to WiFi w/o Ethernet

I’m a new user to both RockPi4 and Ubuntu. I have the minimal installation of Ubuntu running and I’d like to install the more complete version. In order to do that, I need to use apt install. Since I have no network connection, I can’t use apt. I have no free Ethernet ports so I need to set up WiFi from an Ubuntu prompt. Can anyone walk me through that step-by-step keeping in mind I have little experience with Ubuntu?

Sorry, but i must do this

Like come on. That’s first links from google

@Dante great as non of your examples help or actually work.

Ubuntu bionic is Netplan for networking.

https://netplan.io/examples

Edit or create a yaml file in etc/netplan

I tried following those instructions but these variations didn’t work (variables changed from my actual system)

sudo iwconfig wlan0 essid “TomsNetworkName” key “Tom’sNetworkPassword”

SET failed error incorrect parameter

sudo iwconfig wlan0 essid “TomsNetworkName” key s:“Tom’sNetworkPassword”

SET failed incorrect parameter

sudo iwconfig wlan0 essid TomsNetworkName key Tom’sNetworkPassword

sudo iwconfig wlan0 essid TomsNetworkName key s:Tom’sNetworkPassword

All I have is a password, not a hex value. I tried converting the password to 64 and 128 bit hex values and put those in but they didn’t work either.

Did you look at the netplan instructions?

Also do the usual updates for the radxa packages.

apt-get update
apt-get -y upgrade
apt -y dist-upgrade
apt-get install -y rockchip-fstab
apt-get install -y rockpi4-dtbo
apt-get install -y rockchip-overlay
apt-get install -y linux-base
apt-get install -y linux-4.4-latest
apt-get install -y rockpi4b-rk-u-boot-latest
apt-get install -y bluez ap6256-firmware
apt-get install -y brcm-patchram-plus1-64

sudo iwconfig
sudo iwlist wlan0 scan

Then create/edit your yaml in /etc/netplan

1 Like